Posted by: You Missed What | June 9, 2009

professionally yours….

I have been thinking quite  a bit about the last two years of professional life (which got completed last month on 14th) during my free time (not that I have much of it these days but still…)

To say that I have had an exceptional career so far will be far from the truth. At the same time, to say that I have had a screwed up career will be perhaps the biggest lie I could tell myself to get some emotional self pity (I still have a good job). Two years and three companies (Asian Paints, Milagrow, PwC) have taught me a lot many things which I believe I would have missed had I decided to stick to a single company.

No, I will not start narrating all my ‘learnings’ here but will simply recount the 3 ‘top of the mind’ ones. These may not be the best learnings or the most important ones or the most impactful ones. But the fact that they are right now hovering on top of my mind perhaps make them easy to recall and write.

1) We should try hard not to personalize the professional differences as far as possible. Many people I know are good to share a coffee with in the evening but disaster to work with. That doesnt necessary mean that we should hold a vindictive grudge against them all the time. The best way (and the toughest too) is to simply laugh and move on as there are better things to do. Of course this holds true only if this can be done without making a complete surrender of self respect.

2) We should try not to unload the emotional baggage of our professional failures/issues/challenges on our near and dear ones like a nuclear bomb. Most of the time your parents/wife/fiancee/friends etc have strong confidence in you and such an outburst may hurt more than simply feelings. If you really want to talk about issues (and talk you should) do it slowly and with reasonable emotional maturity keeping in mind that problems will remain your best friends till you dont start looking for solutions.

3) Even in the worst of conditions , always believe that it will be ok tomorrow and strive diligently today to ensure that better tomorrow.

4) I know I said only 3 bullets… thats like a typical consultant… deliver more than you promise 🙂 . Respect yourself a lot. Everyday. This is on most occassions the best way to fight the demons inside and outside your head.

I dont think that I have been following these in totality but would definitely like to do so as I mature as a professional.

 

rohit


Responses

  1. sahee baat kahee 🙂

  2. Its always good to good to stop & reflect, better still to blog about it. Good musing Rohit.


Leave a comment

Categories